Requiem by Mozart

Logo L'Auditori Barcelona


OBC – Barcelona Symphony Orchestra
Serena Sáenz, soprano
Avery Amereau, contralto
Jorge Navarro Colorado, tenor
Erik Rosenius, bass
Ensemble O Vos Omnes
Xavier Pastrana, choral conducting
Trevor Pinnock, conductor


W. A. Mozart: Symphony no. 40 in G minor, KV 550
W. A. Mozart: Ave verum corpus, KV 618
W. A. Mozart: Requiem in D minor, KV 626 - Süssmayr's version

The Requiem Mass is the culmination of a stage in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s late work devoted to religious music. Abruptly interrupted by the composer’s premature death, Mozart generates a dramatic action capable of renovating the sacred genre, where the vocal expression stands out to illuminate an overwhelming experience. 

Among Mozart’s symphonic production in Vienna and the last three symphonies, the famous Symphony No. 40 stands out for its magnificent use of the wind in the orchestral texture and for a harmonic writing of great audacity, unique in all his production. 

Despite its brevity, the motet *Ave *verum corpus, dedicated to the mystery of the death of God made man, has been considered by *Bernhard *Paumgartner, one of the great 20th century specialists on the composer, as “the most sublime work of art written by Mozart”.