Faust, Queyras, Widmann & Aimard

Logo Palau de la Música Catalana


Isabelle Faust, violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
Jörg Widmann, clarinet
Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano


A. Berg: Four pieces for clarinet and piano, op. 5
M. Ravel: Sonata for violin and cello
J. Widmann: Fantasy for solo clarinet
E. Carter: Epigrams for violin, cello and piano
O. Messiaen: Quartet for the end of times

Isabelle Faust, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Jörg Widmann and Pierre-Laurent Aimard, virtuosos in their instrumental field and inspirers for the new generations, star in one of the highlights of the season, Quartet for the End of Time by Olivier Messiaen.

The starting point of the musical avant-gardism begins in a prison in Görlitz with the premiere of Oliver Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time in front of a few hundred convicts who, like him, had been held by the Nazi regime. The work was conceived for an unusual combination of quartet – clarinet, violin, cello and piano – and under the protection of a Nazi official who provided the material and space, as well as the necessary concentration and time, to fully work on the piece. Once the Quartet was finished, he wrote on the music score the inscription “there will be no more time”, a phrase that he would extend to his entire musical production.

A genuine dream team at the Palau de la Música Catalana.