Nicolas Altstaedt, OBC & Ludovic Morlot

Logo L'Auditori Barcelona


Nicolas Altstaedt, cello
OBC – Barcelona Symphony Orchestra
Ludovic Morlot, conductor


F. Pedrell: I trionfi (The Triumphs): “Trionfo della morte” and “Trionfo della fama”, symphonic poem
W. Lutoslawski: Cello Concerto
J. Brahms: Symphony no. 2 in D, op. 73

Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 can be regarded as the apotheosis of musical Romanticism, enriched by a multitude of influences. From the moment it opens, a subtle atmosphere of melancholic joy, filled with chiaroscuros, is created through gentle dialogue between the horns and woodwind instruments, tempered by the strings.

Witold Lutosławski was one of the longest-standing representatives of Polish avant-garde musical composition. A great personality and a composer with a solid career–premiered by Mstislav Rostropovich and written during the composer’s mature stage after other important orchestral works, such as his  Symphony No. 2–offers the keys to understanding the intricacies of music from the second half of the 20th century.

I trionfi (Triumphs) represents one of the most Felip Pedrell’s productive periods. The manuscript of the score contains copied fragments of I trionfi, Petrarch’s allegorical poem. This concert will recapture a piece of our musical heritage so that fame triumphs over death.