Pablo Ferrández & Orquestra del Festival Pau Casals

Logo Palau de la Música Catalana


Pablo Ferrández, cello
Pianist to determine
Orquestra del Festival Pau Casals
Alexander Janiczek & Lily Francis, conductors


F. J. Haydn: Cello Concerto no. 1, in C major
W. A. Mozart: Piano Concerto no. 12, in A major, KV 414
Antonín Dvorák: Serenade for Strings, op. 22

The career and international projection of cellist Pablo Ferrández has grown exponentially. Acclaimed for his authenticity and ” gifted with the magnetism of a pop idol, superior technique and exciting musicality”, according to “LA Times”. Ferrández has been honoured with a scholarship from the Pau Casals Foundation and ECHO Rising Stars and has won the 15th International Tchaikovsky Competition, the Princess of Girona Award (2018) and the prestigious Opus Klassik Award for the best artist of the year (2021). In recent seasons he has collaborated with renowned artists such as Anne-Sophie Mutter and Khatia Buniatishvili and orchestras of international prestige. Pablo Ferrández is the musical successor of Pau Casals.

The programme, focusing on Haydn, Mozart and Dvořák, will feature the Pau Casals Festival Orchestra, born from the Marlboro project. It brings together twelve young musicians who have worked alongside leading performers such as Jonathan Brown, Alexander Janiczek, Claudio Martínez-Mehner and Erica Wise. 

This evening is part of the 7th Pau Casals Barcelona Festival, which celebrates and commemorates the historical and symbolic link between Pau Casals and the Palau de la Música Catalan, and the maestro’s international musical dimension.