Seong-Jin Cho, Spanish National Orchestra & David Afkham

Logo L'Auditori Barcelona


Seong-Jin Cho, piano
Spanish National Orchestra
David Afkham, conductor


Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 12 in D minor, Op. 112

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 represents the culmination of his first creative period, a very personal work that anticipates the path that his musical production will follow.

The Symphony No. 12 by Shostakovich, closely linked to Symphony No. 11, has a strong narrative that it is almost a symphonic comment on the overthrow of the Russian monarchy, and through the resources deployed by the orchestra, specific scenes from the Russian Revolution are painted. With its literal musical quotes and allusions, it bears witness to the 20th century and to Soviet musical legacies.